Pan-African Parliament HQ in Midrand South Africa. Image PUBLIC DOMAIN

The Pan-African Parliament elections have been set for June 29, 2022, the body has announced. The African Parliament is the legislative body of the African Union with its headquarters in Midrand, Johannesburg South Africa.

Elections were disputed in 2021 and postponed to 2022. When elected, the legislators are expected to exercise oversight, advisory and consultative powers, for a five-year term. The African Parliament functions as the voice of the people of Africa in matters concerning continental integration and shared development amongst all Africans.

The Parliament became the official legislative body of the African Union at the  23rd ordinary session of the General Assembly of the AU Malabo, Equatorial Guinea on Union on 24 June 2014.

It is composed of five members (including at least one woman) per participating member state. The members occupy roles and responsibilities which fall under the three sections: The Plenary; The Bureau; The Secretariat.The Plenary is the main legislative and deliberation section of the Parliament. Representatives meet regularly to discuss issues in Africa and potential solutions.

The Bureau is the leadership section of the Parliament, made up of a president and four vice presidents, all of whom are elected by delegates in the Plenary.The Parliament is the Secretariat, which is the organizational body of the Parliament and is chaired by a Clerk, Deputy Clerk, and an Acting Deputy Clerk.

Together, these structures maintain and carry out the goals and protocol set out to govern the Parliament. PAP has had 4 Presidents since its founding in 2004. The current acting president of PAP is Senator Chief Fortune Charumbira of Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *